I Call Lucy in Sunnyside For Advice

Remember Lucy and Brutus, who lived beneath me in Sunnyside? I keep in touch.

After AJ asked me to move in with him, I needed to talk to her. I called, brought her up to date, and she said, “Asswipe! You offered him no alternatives. Instead, you said, ‘Nope, can’t live with you because I have all these bloody obligations.’ You might as well have stuck a knife in his chest.”

I’ve mentioned her English accent, right? It makes everything sound better, even when she’s telling me I’m a dick. Right away, I tried to defend myself. “He offered me money. I hate when he does that.”

“He does that because he loves you. He has plenty. Why not let him help you out from time to time? Kick that damn male pride to the curb and hear what he’s really saying.”

I was stuck in self-defense mode. “I don’t need his money. I’m managing just fine.”

“No, you’re not,” she said, and added, “I’m rolling my eyes right now. What does that tell you?”

“They need exercise?”

She burst into reluctant laughter. “Stop trying to deflect me from the subject, which is you and AJ. Why don’t you move in with him?”

“I already told you–”

“Right, your bloody job requires you to live on-site. Bullshit. If you moved in with him, you could do your editing crap and write and he’d pay the expenses he pays anyway. Did that ever occur to you?”

“My boss has been good to me.”

“All righty then, tell your boss you’re still living there but move in with AJ. You stupid git! How many times are you going to be so lucky as to have someone like him? You make me want to punch you straight in the gob.”

“I… I’m not ready yet.”

She got very quiet. “Oh. That’s different then. One really must be ready before moving in with the lover.” A pause. “Things are still good between you?”

“Yeah, mostly. We have the occasional difference of opinion, but… yeah. We’re good.”

“Wait until you’re ready, luv. You’ll know when the time is right.”

The rest of the conversation centered around her latest job, which was as personal assistant to a man who pretty much lived in a dark room all the time. He wouldn’t let her turn on a light. She had to feel her her way to bring him coffee.

Have I told you how much I love Lucy? Damn, I miss that woman.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Call Lucy in Sunnyside For Advice

  1. It took my fiance over a year to talk me out of quitting my job–long commute, useless managers (the type that march you in their office to scold you, but instead you scold them). It’s funny though, I told a coworker he’d been trying to get me to quit, and she looked at me like, “What the hell are you doing here?” It’s something that wasn’t easy for me either, and I’m still living off of money I squirreled away. Whenever he asks me if I need money, I’m like “No no I’m fine,” but one day I’m gonna say yes.

    Also, moving in means different things to different people;for him it was tantamount to a proposal, for me it was not. Your friend Lucy gave you great advice. I hope she curses a lot, and uses a lot of British slang like “kretch”.

Leave a Reply

