Macro Photography: The Lowly Grasshopper

Digital photography has continued to improve over the last several years, and one area in which it’s really started to excel is macro photography, i.e., getting up close and personal with the tiny creatures we don’t usually pay attention to.

Because I can now see things with a camera I miss with my eyes, I’m a huge fan of zooming straight into the faces of small subjects, like grasshoppers. Some will sit still for this, some definitely won’t. Best approach is to go slowly and try not to startle them.

I went through a phase when I took every picture I could, and I saw some interesting detail. One thing I’ve discovered about the insects with whom we share the planet: they are all fascinating and beautiful. 

Notice the red stuff on its back? I have no idea what that is, and I’ve searched. I do think this is the female, though.

What do grasshoppers eat? Well, pollen is one thing. What do they see with those eyes? How do they see? Note: See the hair in this shot?

Here’s another shot of that same hopper. I love how the pollen coats his antenna and feet. He was in a lily, by the way.

And last but not least (how’s that for a cliche?), same type of hopper but different model. This was taken outside near a lake. He was hiding in the leaves but I spotted him. Notice the delicate designs on his back and along the bottom of his body. Simply gorgeous!

Nature blows me away! Every single creature I’ve photographed reveals a staggering beauty that amazes me. Look at those feet! Hell, look at the leaf he’s standing on! Beautiful.

I don’t use anything special when I take macros. I have a Canon SX40. I walk along road sides, squinting into the weeds, looking for subjects. If there is water nearby, so much the better!

When I spot something, I move as close as I can without freaking it out, zoom in, try and focus (not always easy in grass!) and keep taking shots ’til I get something I like. There’s no trick to it, and it’s fun. All you need is patience and a long enough zoom. You’ll be amazed at what you see through a camera’s eye that escapes our human ones.

Processing: In these, just the usual. Adjust curves, run through Topaz Adjust spicify filter (dialed way the hell down, because I only wanted to add contrast and a bit of detail), remove noise.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Macro Photography: The Lowly Grasshopper

  1. AJ Rose says:

    Why aren’t you a professional photographer again?

  2. Suze says:

    I really like all your fotos, but the insect ones are extremely good. Maybe in your spare time ( ha!) you should think about testing the sale market for them.

Leave a Reply

