Hippies Are Alive and Well in Beldenville

Three photos today, two of a greenhouse I discovered while exploring back roads. Speaking of which, I never take the main roads if I can help it. Any route that lets me wind off into new territory is good. If I get lost, all the better!

I noticed the mural and the beetle parked next to it while waiting at a stop sign. I could not resist.

In that same area, just outside of town, I spotted the greenhouse. It was hard to miss. I’ve cropped the photo down to just the outside display, but trust me, the actual greenhouse was painted just as wildly. This photo and the previous one were run through my usual process: adjust curves, Topaz Adjust, noise filter. The bus had some masking done to bring back that beautiful yellow color on the back door (Adjust muddied it). Noise filter was applied to get rid of grain in that gorgeous red in the awning.

This flower garden run amok was to the left of the greenhouse. Love that birdhouse! For this one, Topaz Adjust was used to simplify the photo before applying a Venetian painting veneer. Minor masking done on the white flowers to bring back detail.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hippies Are Alive and Well in Beldenville

  1. W. Lotus says:

    That car and mural are made of awesome!

    • It’s very cool! Every time I drive by, I wonder if the garage is still operating (I don’t think it is!) and why that VW stays there (never moves, never). Rural Wisconsin is filled with such mysteries.

  2. Do you use Photoshop? I’ve been using GIMP lately. I have no idea what the hell I’m doing, but I operate on the motto if I keep fussing with stuff I’ll figure it out eventually.

    Great pictures by the way. Lovely composition.

    • I do use Photoshop. I had a job some years back that required I learn the program. I was so taken with it that I kept on working in it at home. Steep learning curve, but the program is magic. I love it. I would sell my first-born to keep buying upgrades, it’s that good. My unborn children should consider themselves lucky they never made an appearance. ;/

Leave a Reply

