Amazon Publishing Fiasco

Yesterday, I belatedly discovered I could also publish at Amazon as long as I didn’t choose Kindle Select (which requires 90 days exclusivity).

So I hunkered down and reformatted Bringer of Light for Amazon, because you know the formatting had to be different from Smashwords. For one thing, SW makes you remove all page breaks. Amazon wants you to put them back in.

SW automatically creates a table of contents. Amazon doesn’t. So I followed their directions and created a nicely linked TOC…and after I saved it to the html format Amazon requires…it disappeared. Vanished. Went up in a puff of smoke. Maybe it was eaten by the toilet monster.

I tried it again…and the same thing happened. So, Amazon! Why don’t you explain why this is happening? Because I’ve looked into it and haven’t yet found an answer.

Have I told you how anal I am about getting things right? This is gonna bug the crap out of me.

I figure Amazon is gonna kick my ass because I have no TOC. Guess we’ll find out. I published it anyway and it’s in review. Twelve hours, they say. *watching the clock*

Update: It’s published. Just waiting for Amazon to make it available for sale. I guess lack of a TOC is not make or break. Use the bookmark feature! Jeez, easy.

Search and ye shall find: B008IKA3DI.

Update 2: I was up at 3:30 in the morning, trying to figure out how to fix this. I ended up uploading another copy of Bringer of Light, which put it into review again. However, while I was working on this, Amazon sent me an email with a link to the published title. I went there. I ‘looked inside’ and by golly, the TOC was there. How weird! 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amazon Publishing Fiasco

  1. AJ Rose says:

    Technology fairy is fucking with you.

    • She’s a vindictive bitch, no doubt about it. While I was researching what the problem might be, I ran across a slew of other people with formatting problems.

      I’ll say this: Smashwords manuscript crunching engine is impressive! I had no formatting problems when I published there. Amazon’s could use a little refining.

Leave a Reply

