“You Looking at Me?”

Drove to Wisconsin yesterday for dinner and fireworks. In between, I was on the scooter with the camera.

We’ve been enjoying a heat wave this last week, and there’s another several days of it ahead. During the evening, however, the temperature felt just right. Even going only 35 mph, there is wind chill. Also, I experienced micro-climates that bordered on chilly. A very pleasant evening for a ride!

I was traveling a gravel road named Rifle Range Road when I saw a deer dart from one side to the other. I slowed to a stop and waited, and sure enough, discovered he’d left a buddy behind. Adult deer never wait. They take off, flashing their white tails. This one still had his spots though, and hasn’t yet learned to fear people. He stood on the hillside, watching me, waiting for me to move on so he could join his friend. I got several photos of him. 

What is it about scarecrows? I kind of love them. This one was just off someone’s driveway, and that large fluffy bush behind him was a perfect backdrop.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “You Looking at Me?”

  1. W. Lotus says:

    That’s a beauty of a deer. I’m surprised it didn’t run!

    • I could see him thinking about it. I reached for the camera slowly. I raised it slowly. I kept taking photos and still he waited. It was pretty amazing. Also, he was standing just about right; opposite him were dark woods. If he’d been on that side, the pictures would have sucked.

Leave a Reply

