Sunday in the Woods

I had the urge to play in Photoshop this morning. The new upgrade is providing some nice surprises. A friend of mine has a face hanging on one of his trees. I snapped a shot and started experimenting. I knew what I wanted to do, I just wasn’t sure how to do it.

The thing about PS is, the more you try things, the more you learn. Also: there is always more than one way to accomplish your goal. For this one, I used several layers set to different blending options, masking, the color desaturation tool (the face started out blue and I left a little for effect), and a couple different filters.  I wanted it to look like the face was struggling to get free of its tree. Did I succeed?

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday in the Woods

  1. Lindsaysf says:

    Oh wow! It really looks like part of the tree. That is amazing. I feel a tale of dryads coming on.
    Struggling to get loose? Hmm. Maybe if it were out from the tree more. Maybe stretching the bark? Maybe lines of tension between the face and the trunk?

    • The original tree face was nailed on, so it was “out” already. Hm. I’ll have to think about how to best create that impression. Now that I’ve done this once, I’d like to try it again and hope for improvement.

  2. Meghan says:

    You totally succeeded! A really great picture 🙂

Leave a Reply

