Writing and Heat

It’s a hot and sweaty day, and I spent most of it naked in front of a fan, writing on the laptop. The WIP is going extremely well right now, and I’m taking advantage of the flow.

We writers don’t always enjoy the experience of words pouring out in the right order, sentence after sentence, and when it happens, we take full advantage of it. Though I’ve heard tell of a few writers who do this all the time. I am deeply envious of them.Β 

Writing is generally hard for me. Slow work, where I question every word and am constantly rearranging them to find a better order. But not today! It’s coming along nicely. Finished the first chapter and well into the second, though I did stop to run out for wine and do a few errands.

I’ve been listening to Battlestar Galactica soundtracks on headphones, to shut out the sound of other people, kids playing, cars driving by with stereos blasting… Yeah, life in the cities. Not always peaceful, but infinitely preferable right now. The iPod is running down though. Needs recharging. I’ll do that over dinner.

In the meantime…writing up a storm! I hope to get several thousand words written this weekend.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing and Heat

  1. Chris says:

    Yay for good writing days! πŸ™‚

    Today was less miserable than yesterday at least. And the storm’s arriving in Uptown right now, hopefully bringing along cooler weather.

    • Yup, big improvement in weather today. Except it’s overcast and wet. But things have greened up amazingly!

      I edited what I wrote yesterday and most of it was good. πŸ™‚ Continuing on to chapter 3.

  2. I’m glad the ideas are flowing. Your books are very important to you, so is understandable that you want to achieve the best result. No matter how long it takes. The most important is that you feel satisfied with every book. πŸ™‚

    • I don’t fool myself about what I write. It’s entertainment, and mostly for me. I write the kind of stories I want to read. I think most writers admit to that.

      It’s not deep, it’s not literature, and it will never win any kind of prize, and I’m okay with that. I just want people to enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

