Plotting Via the Subconscious

I was out of town the last couple of days, visiting an old friend. I had time to finish laying out the plot for the current WIP.

This is how it happened: I woke up at four in the morning with ideas going through my head. It drives AJ nuts, because he can’t do it. He has to talk it out. 

Any time I need plot help, I drift on that point between sleep and awake, my mind opens, and wonderful ideas occur to me. The trick is to remember them when I finally get up. I keep paper and a pen beside the bed, but I don’t want to reach for them, not while thoughts are bouncing around in my mind.

This time, I remembered. Woke up again around six, jumped out of bed, booted up the laptop, and started writing it all down. I remembered it all. That was satisfying.

It hit 91 today. I love the heat!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Plotting Via the Subconscious

  1. Chris says:

    I am ready for it to be 72 again, please. 🙂 Cool about remembering things that come to you during that half-awake time.

    • At first, I let the ideas come without interfering. I don’t steer them much, just think about the story and wait for thoughts to occur. Then, when I realize I’m on to something, I start repeating them over and over vehemently in my mind so it makes an impression. Because at 4am, the last thing I want to do is get up and jot down notes.

      Most of the time, when I wake up for real, I still remember them. This is what got me through the Phoenix plot block and helped solidify the WIP. AJ has learned not to bug me when I loll in bed early in the morning. He knows I’m thinking, not dozing. ;/

  2. I love the way you are finding balance in your life together! *sigh*
    And of course I’m glad the Muse is being so generous to you. =)♥

Leave a Reply

