Shouldn’t Sundays be Heavenly?

This day has been full of weird. This morning, while I was making a valiant attempt to finish my latest WIP, the cell phone kept ringing. Was it friends calling to say hello? It was not.

It was people calling about vacant apartments or caretakers asking for more paint or “when is the owner showing up” or what the fuck ever.

In between interruptions, I wrote. I kept at it, and finally, shortly after noon, I typed “The End.”

YES! 

Then I took off to meet the building owner so we could deal with issues stemming from kicking out tenants that hadn’t paid their rent in four months. The caretakers did the initial cleanup, and I did not envy them. There were sanitary pads on the floor. Shitty diapers. An unplugged fridge full of food; if you opened the door, the stench knocked you on your ass.

The people who lived there had two young children. What. The. Fuck?! How does anyone live that way?

I’m the first one to say I don’t dust much, but there’s no clutter at my place and the bathroom and kitchen get cleaned regularly. Jesus.

Spent the afternoon there, dumping garbage bags full of stinking offal and helping load the owner’s truck with the remainder of the shit they left behind. He’s going to dispose of it; he knows people.

And now I’m home at last, unsettled and feeling a bit strange, but I’m determined to get some more work done tonight. Guess what? I already know what I’m going to write next, and I can’t wait to get started! I even know the first scene already. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shouldn’t Sundays be Heavenly?

  1. Chris says:

    Yay for finishing the story! But… ewwww for how you spent your afternoon. 😦

    • Yeah. Afternoon sucked. I’ve had the hardest time concentrating this evening. Plus I had to cook and eat dinner, which was delicious, by the way. ;/

      I’m contemplating a long soak in the tub with something alcoholic while I contemplate the new WIP, which I haven’t started yet but the two MCs have names. Names are so important, don’t you think?

  2. May the muses be with you!

    *hugs*

Leave a Reply

