Errand Day

I went grocery shopping. I nearly fainted at the prices. A pizza I love went up $2.

I used to be able to get out of the store every couple of weeks after spending around $150. Now, it’s closer to $100 a week. I’m going to have to make Suki start working for a living.  She’s cute. She can wiggle that little butt and bat her long eyelashes and earn her own keep, because it’s getting harder and harder to make ends meet.

The laundry in my building sucks, i.e., the washing machine doesn’t work. It’s a long story, but it can’t be replaced just yet, and so I have to drag my underwear and sheets to a laundromat and sit around while my clothes spin and fluff and eventually get done. 

In Sunnyside, we had a good laundry in the basement. Okay, I found a dead mouse down there once, and the pipes made strange creaking noises, but I could leave shit down there, return to my place, and go back down when it was finished.

At this laundromat, you have to stand guard, just in case someone takes a fancy to your Calvin Kleine briefs or the T-shirt with the marijuana plant on it. Suki stayed in the car, and twice, I went out and started up the a/c so she’d stop panting.

So what did I get done today? More than you’d think. I edited another 12 pages of the manuscript I’m currently working on for my employer. I paid some bills and other stuff as property manager. AND I read about half of Jordan Castillo Price’s novel, Magic Mansion. That last thing was my favorite activity of the day.

Fun book! Well written and moves fast. Recommended. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Errand Day

  1. Chris says:

    Bummer about the laundry situation. 😦 It’s pretty safe here, fortunately.

    It’s hard to go wrong with a JCP book. 🙂

    • Meh. Apartment living. Sometimes, I take my laundry over to the relative’s house when I visit and do it there. They don’t mind, and it’s a great way to kill two birds with one stone. So to speak. ;/

    • Interesting article. I, too, rely on frozen meals too much. For instance, I’ll buy my favorite pizza and cut it into three or even four servings, thereby cutting calories and turning it into more than one meal.

      I’m not as good at reinvention as I should be. Maybe AJ and I can make a game of it…Both of us could eat better.

  2. Yes. Economy is hell right now. No matter what country you live in. =(

Leave a Reply

