On Being Rejected

We all get rejected. We’re spurned by a lover, we don’t get a job we want, we submit a story to a publisher and it comes back “thank, but no thanks.”

I was rejected. I sent a publisher (a new one, not one I’ve published with before) a story I’ve had laying around for a few years, and they politely declined. It wasn’t angsty enough, too little conflict, and definitely not steamy enough.

I have to say, the rejection email was the nicest one I’ve ever read. It was really beautiful. I saved it, it was so pretty. They did invite me to submit again if I had something suitable, and I’ll keep that in mind, but this particular story was meant to be angst- and conflict-free, and while there’s sex throughout, it’s not terribly graphic and certainly not the point of the story. 

I sent it on to a friend of a friend to read. I want to see if it keeps her interest, if she thinks the story is marketable ‘as is.’ If her review is positive, I may very well self-publish. This story doesn’t easily fit into any one genre, and so it’s hard to sell. It’s also not something I’d write today, as my style has changed significantly since I finished it.

The amazing thing is that this rejection didn’t adversely affect me. I read the email, shrugged, and instantly started making plans to get it out there anyway, because it is well-written, and I think some people will enjoy it. I didn’t feel bad at all.

Either I’ve reached a significant level of maturity, allowing me to take a Zen-like attitude to adversity, or someone turned me into an emotionless zombie when I wasn’t looking.

I’ll let you be the judge.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On Being Rejected

  1. Chris says:

    Hmm. Can I choose option 3? 😉

  2. Neither. Not saying you’re not mature. It’s not a maturity problem.

    “”””this particular story was meant to be angst- and conflict-free, and while there’s sex throughout, it’s not terribly graphic and certainly not the point of the story””””

    “””I want to see if it keeps her interest, if she thinks the story is marketable”””

    “”””This story doesn’t easily fit into any one genre, and so it’s hard to sell”””

    Congratulations! You have reach a level of self-esteem, self-confidence and faith in your own work that you know when something is exactly what you wanted to be and you know it’s good, even if you are sure it will not please everybody. If you were feeling insecure about your work, the words would have been very different. So proud of you!

    Best of luck, honey.
    Keep the faith.

    You’re doing it right! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

