There’s Always a Snake in Paradise

I have been informed that “The Blue Paradise” is in initial edits. Looks like the release date is still June or July.

This one started out as a sexy little short story…and then grew to novella length. At around 35K words, it was the longest piece I’d written, up until I finished “Phoenix Rising,” which is longer still and due out later in the year.

Those of you familiar with my writing know I produce lean works. I don’t like a lot of padding in my stories. While it is possible I will one day write something that qualifies as “novel” length, I’m not concerned with it. 

I tell a story until it’s done, and if that means it ends at 35K or 40K or even 50K words, then so be it.

So what’s this one about? It’s a romantic thriller. Devin Carter is a professional baseball player on medical leave when he meets Jim at a run down motel/resort in Islamorada. The sparks fly, and they connect strongly enough that they decide to keep in touch after Devin returns home to Sarasota. Long distance relationships being what they are, they decide casual sex with others is fine until they can be together again, so when a teammate hits on Devin, he sees no reason to say no.

But this teammate isn’t what he seems, and things go from pretty great to pretty awful in no time flat, leaving Devin wondering whether he’ll survive this impetuous pickup.

As release gets closer, I’ll post a couple of excerpts, give you a taste of what’s to come. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There’s Always a Snake in Paradise

  1. Chris says:

    I’m intrigued! 🙂

Leave a Reply

