It Snowed Today

I spent the day editing. And rearranging things in my apartment.

You, who also live in such places, know there are times when your fellow building dwellers are less than quiet, and so I set up a work space in the bedroom for my laptop and another get-away-from-the-noisy-dickheads area in the spare room. These are necessary escapes for the city mouse (I refuse to think of myself as a rat). 

Back in Sunnyside, Cristian would drive me nuts with the reggae. Over time, we developed an understanding. He played the shit too loud, and I banged on the ceiling with a broom handle. Sometimes, he’d turn it down.

In this apartment, it’s the people below me. They feel it is their right to intrude on my aural space whenever they want to. This is particularly irksome at 4:30 in the morning, when they seemingly get up for work. Jesus, who the hell goes to work in the middle of the night? They were particularly obnoxious last night/this morning, banging around with purpose, because I had the absolute gall to ask them to turn the bass down.

Yeah, we know how that went. I’m surprised I didn’t get punched out. It isn’t only NYC that’s full of assholes. Hence, the redecoration.

By the way, I woke this morning (the second time, around 7:30) to snow flurries. OH YES, it was flying around out there, determined to vanquish spring. The weather here is like a roller-coaster, and not in the fun way.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It Snowed Today

  1. Chris says:

    The snow was an unpleasant surprise.

    I decided that sleeping with earplugs was my only option – I’m a light sleeper and I have an extremely passive-aggressive downstairs neighbor…

    • Glad to know I’m not the only one. I, too, have started sleeping with ear plugs…those great silicone wax ones that fit over the ear opening, sealing it shut. The crappy cone plastic ones never worked for me. Plus, I turn on the sound machine, because yeah, most people are inconsiderate jerks these days when it comes to thinking of others.

      My downstairs neighbors are behaving like five-year-old children. Last night, just to thumb his nose at me, he turned the bass waaaaaaaay up for about thirty seconds. This is not long enough to annoy, but it certainly confirms his childishness. Grown men shouldn’t act this way.

      • Chris says:

        I haven’t tried the wax ones – I use the basic little pillowy foam kind.

        Oh, maybe your neighbor should get together with my neighbor – I hope they decide to live in your building! 😀 – every time I’ve talked to her about something, it’s immediately become MORE of a problem as she escalates the behavior. *rolls eyes*

        • AJ told me I should let the guy have it, but it is true: escalation benefits no one, and it’s definitely what happens when you say something to certain people about their behavior, because right away, they take it personally. “I have a right to be up in your face! Who are you to call me on my bad behavior?”

          If that’s their attitude, you can never win. Best not to even try. So I’m keeping a low profile and hoping he gets over it, because I don’t want my home to become an unpleasant place to be. I’m there a lot, and that would stress me badly.

          • Chris says:

            I can really, really relate to that. I finally hit the point where I found Downstairs to be amusing and sort of pathetic, so now I just laugh and roll my eyes at her drama. It made things less stressful for me. But it took a while to reach that point.

            Hang in there…

          • That’s exactly right! Find them amusing and blow them off, otherwise we’re just sinking to their level. I feel sorry for my neighbor. His life must be full of rage and disappointment while mine is just the opposite. And I very much follow the Golden Rule, because things are much more pleasant that way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

