Writing for Adventure

Today, it is gloomy outside, with intermittent rain. This weather makes me feel like napping or curling up with a book/the kindle, but instead, I’ve been writing.

I’ve posted an excerpt from this one. It concerns Tristan, who runs a posh resort for gay men, and Malcolm, a married man who crosses paths with him. I meant it to be a piece of fluff after finishing Phoenix, something I could bang out with little thought before starting the next project, and instead, it took on a life of its own.

This seems to happen with all my “little” pieces lately. “The Blue Paradise,” due out in June or July, started out as a sexy little short story, set in Islamorada in the Florida Keys. Once I got into it, the characters took on a life of their own. This story went in a direction I did not foresee, and I had the good sense to stay with Devin and Jim to see where they took me. I read over and over again that authors should work up an outline for their project, so they know where they’re going. I’ve tried doing that, but stories I outline rarely get finished. Why? Because I know where it’s going and I get bored halfway through.

I don’t just write to tell a story. I write to entertain myself. Why the hell did Devin take that idiot outfielder, Jorge, to bed after meeting Jim (The Blue Paradise)? What happened after Talis kidnapped Artemis, taking him to Kathmandu (Phoenix Rising)? Tristan and Mal are a sweet couple but what darkness threatens their fragile new love (Lavender Rose)?

I write to find answers. I want to know WHY and WHO and WHAT, and if I write the outline first, I have all the answers and it’s a big yawn. So I write on the fly, making it up as I go, letting the characters tell me what’s happening, and it is bloody amazing, how often everything magically falls into place by the time I type “the end” on the last page.

So…you writers who have outlines…More power to you, but I prefer to write blind, every time, and be amazed at what happens. 🙂

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing for Adventure

  1. Do what works for you. Your muses are different. Maybe that’s why your stories are so interesting. =)

Leave a Reply

