I Talk with Mom about JJ

I called her first thing this morning. I was at my place for a change and didn’t have to be careful about being overheard.

“I have something to tell you, Mom.”

“I’m listening.”

I knew she was, too. She’s a good listener. 

I was still lying in bed, Suki at my side, propped up on pillows and looking out the east window at the sunrise. Another day of blue skies.

“JJ and I broke up.”

“When did this happen?”

“Almost three weeks ago.”

“And you’re only telling me this now? Why didn’t you say something last weekend?”

“Wasn’t ready.” I petted Suki’s soft fur. “He said he never wanted to move, he only considered it for me.” I didn’t want to tell her the rest of it, and really, it wasn’t her business. She’s my mom, not my friend, ya know? Some things a guy has to keep to himself, especially when they put me in a bad light.

“Sorry, honey.”

“…Yeah, me, too. We were a good team.” Or at least, I’d thought so.

“So now what? You and AJ?”

That surprised me. We’d been pretty careful when visiting. “Why would you immediately go there?”

“Because you two have been close for years. You know each other well. You trust and rely on each other. Plus, I saw him sneak-kiss you in the hall after dinner.”

I laughed. “Yeah, okay, can’t deny it. We’re giving it a shot.”

“It’s Dan’s birthday next weekend. Make sure you and AJ come out to celebrate it.”

“As long as it’s on Sunday, sure. AJ works Saturday.”

“See you then!”

After we hung up, I smiled. Life sure had an interesting way of taking you down unexpected paths.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Talk with Mom about JJ

  1. abichica says:

    aaww… your mom is sweet and its so nice how she didnt put too much pressure on trying to get the details of what happened.. 🙂

  2. Love your Mom! She’s old enough to understand when something is meant to be. *chuckle* She knew. I knew. But the parties involved were too stubborn and too scared to see. *grin*

    *huge hug*

Leave a Reply

