And Now a Word from the Ex

I spent last night at AJ’s, but this morning, I returned home to change clothes, check the mail, water the plants (I have plants; I like them). I wasn’t there more than a few minutes when my cell rang.

I answered without checking ID. “Hello.”

“I see you didn’t waste any time.”

My blood ran cold. Ya know, this is said in books all the time, but it’s true. It suddenly feels like someone is pumping ice water through your veins. “Hi, JJ.” 

“So how long did it take? A week? And now you’re sleeping at each other’s place and hanging out together.”

I sat on the couch, knees a little weak. “You broke up with me, remember? You were going to be here last weekend and you weren’t and you have no reason to call me on this.” I tried to remember the date. April something. “Aren’t you supposed to be in school?”

“Still on spring break.”

“Right. So you thought you’d jump online, catch up on the blogs, and yell at me. How’s that working for you?”

He sighed. “Not nearly as well as I’d hoped.” There was a long pause while we breathed at each other. “I miss you.”

Pressing my lips together, I wondered how to respond. Of course, I still loved him. You don’t just fall out of love with someone in a few days, not when you were as close as he and I’d been. “What are you saying?”

“Just that I miss you.”

It suddenly occured to me that he might have changed his mind about breaking up, and I popped a sweat. “Are you…um, what…” I couldn’t put it into words.

“That’s not very eloquent, coming from a writer,” he said quietly.

“You call me out of the blue and expect me to make sense?” Yup, I got defensive, never my best side. “And what is it you miss? The way I used to make all the decisions? The way I’d do whatever I wanted to without consulting you?” The stuff he’d accused me of still hurt, probably because there was some truth in it. No one wants to think they’re the ass in a relationship.

“Are you really with him now? AJ?”

“We’re not engaged, if that’s what you’re asking.” Why was he asking?

“How’s your mom?”

My head was starting to spin from the changes of subject. “She’s okay.”

“Tell her we broke up?”

“What’s it to you?” I waited for him to answer, but he didn’t. “No, I haven’t told her yet.”

“Isn’t that interesting…” And he hung up.

I sat on the couch for a while, slowly becoming aware of traffic noises and a kid in the next apartment pounding on the floor and someone downstairs playing music just at the edge of my awareness. It was 34 degrees in my new city, and I had shit to do, but I just sat on the couch, staring at the wall.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And Now a Word from the Ex

  1. abichica says:

    woowww!!! dramma!!! I feel sad for you and for him, because i have seen and read how you guys were with each other and how much you guys were so inlove. And i kind of understand what he is feeling now, i mean i think he wants you back, but he definitely wont say that to you… What if he tells you he wants you back? i mean now that you are with AJ things are complicated right?

    • Complications, I don’t need. Really.

      I admit I’m confused about his call and I haven’t done anything about it yet. Haven’t even talked with AJ about it. I think the dust has to settle first.

  2. Damn!!!! I understand him perfectly, I understand his reaction but it was unfair. Yes, he regretted his decision. Yes, he still loved you. Yes, you still loved him. But after all the things that happened with AJ, your relationship would never be the same. It’s not that simple. He’s always been jealous of AJ and I doubt he could ever forget what happened.

Leave a Reply

