A Maybe Job

I sat around all freaking day waiting for a phone guy to call or show up. He was turning on service for my boss at the building. He finally did…after three. He finished what he needed to do after four. The entire day was shot, at least in that respect.

While I waited, I edited. I’m trying to land a freelance job at a publisher. I applied and they sent me a test sample. I can’t begin to describe how bloody awful it is. Imagine the worst writing you’ve ever read and multiple it by ten.

It took me an hour to edit the first page, mostly because I couldn’t stop laughing. I sent an email to my contact, gently suggesting that this manuscript might have to be sent back to the author for another sweep before re-submittal.

She agreed it was horrendous. Apparently, this is part of the test, to give a potential employee such a massive piece of shit they can barely deal with it. Every sentence has something wrong with it. And I still can’t stop laughing. I’ve never seen such abysmal sentence and paragraph structure. 

I’m not even a third of the way through it yet. It’s gonna be a long night, folks. *tops off the wine glass*

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Maybe Job

  1. Chris says:

    A possible job AND an opportunity for entertainment! Woot! 😉

  2. OMG! *chuckle* You are perfect for the job because you pay attention to details. The problem is that many times you will end climbing the walls because of the many transgressions pseudo writers commit. Good luck, my dear!

Leave a Reply

