Here There Be Dragon(flies)

Yesterday, I spent with the guy I property manager for. He had things for me to do, which included sitting on the front step of a building, waiting for the water meter guy (who was changing it out) for an hour and a half. I had the camera, but it was windy and I didn’t get any good shots. AJ worked, so I didn’t see him.

This morning, I was going through some of my old photos. I thought I’d share a few. Today, obviously, it’s dragonflies. I have tons of these, by the way. I went through an entire summer shooting almost nothing else, and I got some gorgeous ones. These are by no means “the best,” they’re just the first ones I happened across that I thought you’d enjoy. I hope to get some new ones this year; the new camera should allow me to get closer than ever before, though I admit, I never had much problem. By the end of that summer, they were following me around and, I swear, posing for me. 

Southern snaketail.

Ebony Jewelwing. I love these guys. They’re so beautiful and varied.

Dot Tail Whiteface. Common here, but I’m particularly fond of them because their ‘smile’ is so obvious.

And finally, breeding. They do this a lot. Considering their lives are incredibly short, I’m not surprised I see this all the time. These are our dot tails again.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Here There Be Dragon(flies)

  1. Chris says:

    Pretty amazing shots!

  2. eeper says:

    These look great! I especially like how picture of the ebony jewelwing shows the wings and body looking kind of metallic.

    I usually have no idea what the hell kind of insect I’m taking pictures of, much less actual names and such.

    • I used the “summer of bugs, butterflies, dragonflies, et al” to learn what they were. Birds in particular drove me crazy, so I’d take the photo and then look it up in a field guide or track it down online.

      This is not to say I remember any of it! But I did look them up and that was part of the fun. I especially enjoyed learning I’d gotten a pic of a Savannah sparrow (I was on the road, the bird was on a stalk in a field), because I’d never heard of it. Same with the yellow-bellied sapsucker…oh yes! This is a real bird and not just an insult thrown at someone in old cartoons. Again, I was on the road and the bird was hanging off a tree, pecking at a hole. The pictures came out slightly blurry, which is why I rarely show them, but I count it as a rare sighting, as I haven’t seen the sapsucker since.

      Photography isn’t just photography. It’s also a terrific way to learn about the world around you.

  3. eeper says:

    Do you think the breeding ones were posing for your camera, too? :O

  4. I miss my car. It was blue and I always found Dragonflies dancing around him, probably they used to confuse it with water. *sigh* I have another one now. Same model but it’s red. *wrinkling nose*… long story. I miss my car. The pictures are lovely. Thanks for sharing them! =)

Leave a Reply

