Cold Snap

Woke up, got out of bed, froze my nuts off. Still no heat and it got damn cold last night. However, the wind shifted, it’s coming from the south now, and the sun is out, so the apartment is heating up nicely. It should be toasty by this evening.

How many of you have looked for a job lately? It’s been a while for me, and I knew it was bad, but man! there are a few jobs at the high end of the salary range (for which I’m not qualified) and a ton at the low end (for which I’m over-qualified), but almost nothing in the middle. This doesn’t look good. I admit to being a little worried. 

I deposited some money in my checking account yesterday and noticed some of the residences had iron gates on front doors and windows. What a difference fifty miles makes. Here in St Paul, people install gates and alarms and security lights. Over the border in Wisconsin, they run off to the store or take a long walk and leave the back door unlocked.

In Sunnyside, we locked our doors. I prefer the casual attitude displayed in Wisconsin, but of course, the crime rate there is really low…unless there’s an Ed Gein in the neighborhood, and what are the odds for that?

I have some errands to run today, but then I plan to continue writing. I think I’m reaching the end of the current WIP. I say “I think,” because often, just as I’m wrapping things up, some new interesting twist occurs to me and I’m off in a new direction. I guess it will end when it’s ready to.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold Snap

  1. Chris says:

    When we get weird cold snaps when the boiler isn’t on, I tend to use the oven more… there are some chilly nights in the forecast for the next week or so. 😦

    I haven’t looked for a job for a long, long time. I’ve been where I am for *mutter16yearsmutter*, and I got this job via networking during a community ed karate class – hardly a traditional job search…

Leave a Reply

