AJ Works While I Play

He started his new job last night. I dropped by to show my support and maybe eye-fuck a few guys. There were a lot of good-looking men around.

This place is huge. I started in the front bar, where AJ was stationed, and wandered through the lounge and into the back bar. The place was packed, but not uncomfortably so. I wandered, smiled a lot, said hi when spoken to, but didn’t settle anywhere. I didn’t feel like engaging. 

I limited myself to three drinks, spread out; I was driving home and didn’t want to chance getting drunk. It’s been too long since I’ve been clubbing and the noise level gave me a headache. JJ and I frequented the smaller, neighborhood places, where we could relax and talk at a reasonable volume, maybe play a game of pool. I guess this is a sign I’m getting older, huh? When I prefer low to medium volume instead of raucous ear-splitting merriment. Get a lot of people together and it’s loud.

Or maybe it was me. I was over-sensitive to everything; music was too loud, laughter was too loud, even the occasional burst of light hurt my eyes.

It’s been so long since I was single. I felt like someone had removed my skin and I was exposed to everything.

Before leaving, I said goodbye to AJ, who was high as hell on the excitement of it all. He grinned and nodded and as I walked away, someone grabbed my arm and said, “You know him?”

“Yeah.” The man had great eyes but looked a little wild, as if he was wired.

“Is he available?”

I looked back over my shoulder at AJ. He was smiling and talking to a couple of guys, one of whom was stuffing money in a tip jar.

“Guess you’ll have to ask him that.”

I walked out into a really nice night, with just the slightest bite to the air, found my car, got in and drove home. Suki was waiting for me.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to AJ Works While I Play

  1. You were tired and lonely. Wish I could have been there to hold you. Would that be too bad? To have a girl holding you? *sigh* It’s heartbreaking when you care so much for someone but your hands are tied and you can’t do anything to help. 😦 *hugs*

Leave a Reply

