AJ Hooks Up and I Don’t Like It

AJ called me this morning, not too early. He was all excited about his visit to a gay bar in the Cities. “Think you’ll get a job there?”

“I hope so,” he answered, upbeat. “The manager was friendly and wants me to come back for an interview in a couple of days. Fen, you’d love the place. Crawling with guys.”

“Were they hot?” I smiled, and was almost sorry I’d spent the evening with the relatives. A gay bar sounded like just the ticket after the week I’d had. 

His voice dropped. “There was a bartender named Alex. Biggest smile I’ve ever seen. He was raking in the tips. I could have bounced a quarter off his abs.”

He’d been unpacking all week and I hadn’t seen him in a couple of days. I’d recently taken stock of my money and realized I didn’t have as much as I thought. Maybe enough for three months if I was careful, and I was feeling a little freaked. Also, I hadn’t seen JJ in a while and was missing him. “Don’t tell me you got lucky.”

He paused, and then cleared his throat. “Not with the bartender. Can’t muddy the waters if you hope to work there.”

Huh, subtle. Over the years, I’d gotten good at reading him. “You hooked up, didn’t you?” Unexpectedly, I felt my stomach twist.

There was a definite smile in his voice. “What can I say? <i>Crawling</i> with guys. Throw a dart, hit a hottie, it was that packed. We should go there sometime.”

What the hell was this? This…<i>emotion</i>…twitching in my veins? I wanted to hit something. I wanted to hit him. “Yeah…well. Good for you.” I didn’t sound happy for him even in my ears. I sounded pissy.

The pause was longer this time. “What’s wrong, Fen?”

I scowled at Suki, who tilted her head and smiled. “What could be wrong?” Oh yeah, that sounded great. Fake heartiness anyone? “I gotta go. Glad you had a good time last night. We’ll talk in the morning, right?” And I hung the fuck up.

As I put the cell down, I recognized what was making me feel dizzy and breathless. I was jealous.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to AJ Hooks Up and I Don’t Like It

  1. I knew it! I knew it! OMG! I EFFING KNEW IT!!!!! *burst out laughing*… Oh, no… JJ… Eff!!! ='(

Leave a Reply

