Power Outage and Mediocre Restaurant

So I’m sitting on the couch with the laptop, waiting for dinner to defrost, and suddenly I’m plunged into darkness. The power went out in my building and the one across the parking lot. I called the building owner and asked him to contact Xcel because my internet was gone and I was having trouble even remembering where the candles were and then there was the matter of lighting them. I don’t smoke, but I do keep a stick lighter around.

I called JJ and AJ and they talked to me while I walked through the apartment, bumping into boxes and crap piled up in the hall. Eventually, I got a candle lit and the owner called back to inform me Xcel said 200 residences were without power and they’d have it on by 10. 

AJ laughed his ass off when I told him. No, I don’t know why. He just thought it was funny. That guy has a weird sense of humor sometimes. I threw my defrosted dinner in the dark fridge, grabbed keys and money, and headed out to find a restaurant. I ended up at Romolo’s.

They serve Italian fare. I ordered cheese ravioli. The salad came; straight out of a bag. A basket of bread showed up; slightly stale and the butter didn’t even have garlic in it. And damn, no beer or wine! How the hell does anyone eat food without alcohol to accompany it? The ravioli was…adequate. I ate about half.

What have we got so far? Mexican place: D. Italian place: C.

I know there are good restaurants in the neighborhood. I just have to find them.

One minute after I returned home, the power came back on. I have internet (obviously) and lights. The search for excellent food continues!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Power Outage and Mediocre Restaurant

  1. Chris says:

    Did they blame the crazyass wind?!

    You really aren’t doing well restaurantwise… St Paul’s not my area, but if you’re anywhere near Pad Thai Grand Cafe or Ruam Mit Thai, they’re decent. Pizza Luce is good – of course, I’m prejudiced because they also have gluten-free pizza and beer. 🙂

    • You’re gluten-free? I have a friend that is, too. I probably should be, as wheat sometimes fills the back of my throat with phlegm, but I enjoy bread so very much! Well, good bread, anyway. I do not understand how anyone can eat that mass-produced crap. It tastes like…nothing, or maybe Styrofoam.

      • Chris says:

        I am – diagnosed with celiac disease in 1997. There IS gluten-free bread, you know. 😉

        • Is it good? Heh, I mean, is it tasty? Does it have, you know, actual flavor?

          When I was vegan, my insides never worked better, but it got so boring because I could never eat out, and I love eating out when I can afford it. I still avoid sugar and never eat meat, but as sugar is in everything, I still suffer intestinal upsets now and again. I should do whole foods, but I don’t cook much and time is usually an issue.

          • Chris says:

            Well, I think it’s good – depending on the type. For example, I love Kinnickick (sp?!) sunflower flax seed bread for toast, but it makes horrible sandwiches. Udi’s makes great sandwiches, but wimpy fluffy toast. Etc. Bittersweet Bakery (completely gf) in Eagan has some great breads, rolls, muffins, etc. I live a few blocks from the Wedge Co-op in Uptown – they bake an ok gf bread that I only really eat when I get sandwiches from their deli – it has dairy in it, and I’m lactose intolerant. I have yet to try the gf offerings from French Meadow Bakery, also just a few blocks from me.

            It’s getting easier and easier to be gf – I have an application for my Android tablet called Find Me GF, which shows you the restaurants with gf menus and options nearby. 🙂

          • I’ll check out the bakeries in the neighborhood, see what they offer. Lately, I’ve been slicing up french bread for toast, because I like the doughy flavor.

  2. My thoughts: No internet… EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKKKKK!!!!!

    Really hoping you found decent food later. =S

Leave a Reply

