I Begin My Property Manager Job

I spent much of the day assisting the guy who owns the buildings I’m managing. He’s known my uncle for some twenty years, and we hit it off right away.

There are three buildings. I live in one, the second is across from it, behind a shared parking lot, and the third is a couple miles away. We went to the latter building first, to fix a door. It seems the cops performed a drug bust and it needed repair. 

He knocked a couple times and when there was no answer, stuck a crow bar between the door and frame and popped it open. An incredible stink wafted out into the hall; it seems the tenant kept turtles. There were five of them in a bare tank against one wall. From the looks of the place, that tenant was in the midst of skipping out.

Mike, my new boss, shrugged and proceeded to replace the broken frame. “I’ll keep his damage deposit and come out about even.”

When we were half finished with the job, the tenant returned and proceeded to give us shit about the cops taking all his money and not knowing where he was staying so he couldn’t give us a forwarding address. He asked if we’d take his turtles. Mike declined, but later said if they were left behind, he’d take them home and release them in the spring.

We returned to my building, where he took me to an apartment on the first floor, which contains a philatelic society. Mike, it seems, is a stamp collector whose interest got out of control. Last summer, he formed a board of directors and got a grant to start the library. In time, he thinks it will occupy the entire first floor, but in the meantime, he’s starting with one apartment.

He’d set up an office in one of the bedrooms, and we spent the afternoon there, catching up the books and deciding how things should best be handled. Mike’s a nice guy and I enjoyed his company. He’ll be fun to work for.

I’m waiting on pizza right now, and then I’m taking the evening off to do some writing. It’s been too long!

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Begin My Property Manager Job

Leave a Reply

