Dinner and a Pic

I called JJ. “Guess what I’m doing?”

“Masturbating on the couch while watching a movie?”

“That’s later. No, I’m cooking dinner. My first one with salad since I moved in.”

“Glad to hear your appetite is back. Feeling better now?” 

I’d suffered a horrible anxiety attack first thing this morning and immediately called to get his reassurance that I’d done the right thing. “I hit the boxes with a vengeance and that helped.” In fact, I rather stunk at the moment, from working up a sweat all day. “You’ll hate the kitchen. It’s so small you have to step to the side to open the oven. The fridge is also malfunctioning. The freezer door sticks and you have to shove the bottom door really hard to make it close.”

“Fen, this is not making me anxious to visit. You know how I love a good kitchen.”

“Yes, but you love me more.” I paused dramatically. “Right?”

He laughed. “Let me think about it.”

“And the cabinets are painted baby-shit diarrhea brown. It’s disgusting.”

I could almost hear him wince. “Gawd, Fen.”

“I got permission to paint them. Fire engine red.”

“Excellent. If you wait until I arrive, I’ll even help and you know how much I hate painting.”

I wasn’t fond of it either but those cabinets definitely needed a facelift. “The tilapia is almost done. It has rosemary and stuff on it.” I drew in a breath. “I miss you, babe.”

“Same here. Easter is only a couple weeks away.”

“Yeah. We can do this.”

We said our goodbyes, and I ignored the ache in my heart while I attended to dinner.

____________

Here’s a pic taken from my large front window. The apartment faces south and gets light all day long. I do love that, and so will JJ. I know…fascinating, huh? But it’s new to me and I can’t wait until the trees leaf out.

 

 

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dinner and a Pic

  1. Chris says:

    It’s pretty sad that my wee kitchen sounds larger than your kitchen!

  2. Damn! The kitchen is not my favorite place of the house but a small kitchen really sucks! So sorry, babe. Well, you can’t have everything… *still thinking about cool shops in the neighborhood*

Leave a Reply

