The Packing Blues

Packing is a pain. You can do only so much before you have to stop, because yes, you will need that item before you actually move. And how does one pack the weird stuff? I have a few plants. I guess I’ll put them in the car when I go, because movers mostly don’t want to deal with that. Do you pack lamps? If so, how? Man, it’s been too long since I did this.

In the last 12 years, I’ve moved four times. Ohio to Florida, Florida to NY, from apartment to apartment, and now, NY to MN, which will be my fifth time. I read once that Americans move a lot, like every couple years. Why is that, do you think? It’s so much easier to just plant your ass somewhere and stay until they have to cart you out in a coffin.

I’m already dreaming of spring.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Packing Blues

  1. Chris says:

    On the plus side, by moving every few years, you don’t really need to clean closets. Having been settled in my condo for 9 years now, after 20 years of moving every 1-2 years, I’m still adjusting to having to clean closets periodically. It used to just happen via moving. 🙂

    • I’ve been at the current place almost eight years. Unfortunately, I do have to clean those closets out. There is all kinds of interesting crap stuck in the corners and on that top shelf no one ever goes to.

      But I agree: moving every few years keeps the garbage to a minimum.

  2. Since Americans are very young they are taught to be highly independent. You leave home to go to the University, later you will start your own life and your own family. You try to have a better job, a better life and many times you can’t find it where you live, probably because your country is so big and you can find many opportunities in very different places. At the end, the answer is simple: roots. Someday, some place will make you want to finally grow roots there and you will not leave any more. Not so sure if i was able to explain the idea. *chuckle*

Leave a Reply

