Before and After

This entry is about photography and filters and camera sensors.

Most of you know that digital camera sensors can’t capture all the color and light a human eye can. It’s obvious when you take the picture, download it at home (or get it printed at a kiosk), and look at it. Quite obviously, it sucks. It’s flat! Look at this one, taken last weekend when I was out and about. 

This has none of the beauty I saw when I was looking at the scene, even after I adjusted levels and curves. HDR is one way in which photographers process pictures to capture a wider range of lights and darks. “High dynamic range” is very popular right now, to the point where some cameras stack the exposures as you take the photos. I do it when I can but it’s not always a good time to drag out the tripod and get things set up.

So I sometimes use filters to mimic an HDR effect. Sometimes this works really well, other times it’s not very good. Shooting three different exposures and combining them in a program like Photoshop or Photomatix is always best.

After running that photo through Topaz Labs filters, I got this:

Which do you prefer? The filters brought out what little color was there and then I bumped it even more because I’m a color whore. I need to see a rich palette when I gaze at photos. Monochromes do little for me.

Note: I did do some masking between the two before calling it finished. I enjoy tweaking photos, you may not. ;/

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Before and After

  1. Jaycee Edward says:

    I’m still working my way through your old blog posts. LOL. I’m enjoying the photography stuff. Gotta say, while I like the one on the bottom the best, being from northeast Ohio, the one on the top looks the most real to me. Bleak, cold, no color. Yep…just like home.

    • Maybe your eyes need adjusting. Heh. But I do know what you mean.

      However: the eye does see more than most camera sensors, and by processing photos for added color and clarity we can emulate that so the scene looks the way it did when you were there.

      I agree most winter scenes are dull and boring, but some aren’t, and isn’t it nice we can correct for that?

Leave a Reply

