Jealousy

Last night in bed, I mentioned to JJ that I’d suggested AJ move to Minneapolis. I swear the temperature in the room dropped 20 degrees.

“What did he say?” JJ finally responded.

“Not much. I told you he quit his job, right? So why not get a fresh start somewhere else?”

“But why move where you’re going?”

I could hear the jealousy in his voice. “Why not? I’ll be there alone, remember? It would be nice to have my best friend there, too.”

“I thought I was your best friend.”

I saw that coming when the words were half out of my mouth. “You’re my lover, and I tell you everything.” Mostly. “But AJ and I go way back, and here’s news for you, I can have both you and him in my life without much problem other than what you give me over it.”

He rolled away from me. “Yeah, okay. Good night.”

I stared at the ceiling for a while. I knew AJ had a thing for me. Once in a while, he tempted me, and maybe I was being short-sighted and downright stupid to want him in the same city I was in, sans JJ, but the thought of being alone in St Paul scared me a little. It takes so long to build up contacts, figure out the great places to eat and shop and hang out. That would be a lot more fun with AJ around.

I bit back the apology I’d been about to make and closed my eyes. If AJ decided to move, I’d deal with it then.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jealousy

  1. Chris says:

    You’re going to have to change your blog header after you move…

  2. Gawd, you’re right. I hadn’t even thought of it. Hm…new header. What fun!

Leave a Reply

