Evening at Home

“Not packing tonight?”

“Nope.” I topped off my glass of wine, the first I’d had in five or six days, and rejoined him on the couch. “AJ liked the new WIP. Actually, he more than liked it. He raved. He said it will be my breakthrough book.” I couldn’t stop smiling.

“Are you going to let me read it?” 

“After I go through his edits, sure. I’d like your opinion, too.”

I leaned against him, gazing into the electric fireplace. The TV was off, no music played. We were enjoying being together, with Suki between us.

“That makes you feel pretty good, huh? That AJ liked it so much?”

“Yeah, of course. I value his opinion.”

“So what happens next?” He played with one of Suki’s ears. Eyes closed, she ignored him.

“I go over it yet again, and then submit it to a publisher.”

“What would it mean to have a big hit in your genre?”

“You mean, as far as money goes? Fuck if I know. I’m small potatoes right now and I refuse to think things will change when this one comes out. That would be, well, kind of stupid. I mean, what if it goes nowhere? What I do now is keep writing. That’s what any writer does.”

“But what if, Fen? What if it’s a hit?”

I curled a hand around his thigh. “Then it’s a hit, but I don’t see my life changing in any significant way. I’ll never be that important. It’s the writing that matters.”

“That’s what I like about you.” He kissed my temple. “You’re not full of yourself.”

I smiled. “I can’t afford to be.”

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

