Free Apartment is Free

JJ was home today for MLK day. He called me. “Did you give your notice?”

I hadn’t gone to lunch yet. Mondays are always busy, because I’m gone the previous Friday. “Yeah. I’m working until the end of the month.”

“Okay.” He sounded resigned.

“Babe, I have to go. I have a job and apartment lined up, and I want to be close to Mom.”

“I know all that. I can’t help it if I’m upset by this. Things were really working, you know?”

“They were.” I’d had my doubts in the beginning, but the last few months had been pretty good. “I heard from the apartment building owner today. He’s a friend of Uncle Dan’s. He lost his property manager, so he’s wondering, since I’m a bookkeeper, if I want the job. I’ll get the apartment for free.”

“Jeez, really? That’s an incredible deal. You’re going to do it, right?”

“I’d be a moron not to. The guy bought the building only so he could install a stamp library on the main floor. In fact, he bought three, all to support that library. Apparently, he’s a big collector and sort of went crazy with it. He and some guys became a board of directors and formed a non-profit. They’re looking for grant money now, to deal with the library.”

“Fen, sometimes you are the luckiest ass in the world.”

“And sometimes I’m not, but yeah, looks good so far.” Suki’d stayed home with JJ today; I could hear him talking to her. “Is that it? I have more shit to do today.”

“Not writing? I thought you were going to finish the story yesterday.”

“Couldn’t decide how to end it, but this morning on the way in, I figured it out.”

“Good. You need time to pack.”

“Hey, I got seven boxes done yesterday. Only about forty to go.”

“Right. I’m going to make something special for dinner tonight. I think we both deserve it.”

“Sounds good.” A fuuny little ache shot through my heart. “I’ll be home at the usual time. See you then.”

The move was going to work out really well for me. I planned to save money like crazy. But what would it do to me and JJ?

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

