Updates and JJ

The friend that had the heart attack? Home and doing well. He was told his condition was nearly always fatal, so he’s damn lucky to be alive. He’s also a diabetic, which is the complicating factor in all of this.

The latest WIP is close to wrapping. I have one major scene left, and it’s so big, I’m taking my time with it. Also…there’s the packing.

There are seven boxes stacked against a wall. They are full of my books. I kept running across one I hadn’t seen in a while and wanting to dip into it, but ignored the impulse and kept going.¬†

JJ was not amused, and this time, he didn’t help. He played fetch with Suki and tried to pretend I wasn’t sitting on the floor not three feet away, putting my life away so I could unpack it in another part of the country.

After an interminable period of silence, he said, “We should talk about the sex thing again.”

I’d just found a Stephen King I’d never read. It was set in Florida, which is why I probably bought it, and I wondered how in hell I’d missed it. “What sex thing?”

He squeaked Suki’s blue dog and tossed it. She raced after it, grinning. “When we’re apart. We didn’t really settle that.”

“No, we didn’t.” I reluctantly put King away, knowing I’d have no time to read him before I moved. “I’m leaving the VHS tapes and player. I’m done with that format.”

“Fen…”

I stopped packing. “What do you want me to say? That we should remain exclusive while we’re half a country apart? Because I don’t think that will work. I think we need to give each other space until we’re together again. Just stay safe.”

His lips curled down. “So we’re free agents again?”

I hated this discussion. I wasn’t in the mood to have it. I was weeks away from leaving my home and my lover and I really didn’t want to go there. I had a headache and kept getting little anxiety rushes, realizing how close our separation was. “It’s not reasonable to expect either of us to give up sex for months.”

“I hate it when you’re being reasonable.” He hard-balled Suki’s dinosaur into a wall.

I looked at him. He didn’t look at me, but I could tell by the set of his mouth he was pissed. “If you don’t get a job there, you’ll stay here and we won’t be together for a very long time. Reasonable is the only way to go.”

“It’s just sex, right?” The words dripped with sarcasm.

I heaved a sigh, taped a box closed, and wrote on it with the Sharpie. Carrying it over to the others, I set it down on the stack. “I’m going to take a bath.”

He didn’t follow me.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

