Exploring Piracy

No, not the kind Captain Jack Sparrow made so romantic and dashing, but the kind that happens online when people download stuff for free.

There’s a petition circulating right now I’d like you to consider signing. Help Stop Ebook Piracy

People say ebooks cost too much. I disagree with that. Let’s start with me. My most expensive e book thus far cost $3.99. Half of that goes to the publisher, so they can pay the editors, the proofer, and the person who created the cover. That half also covers their time in promoting the release and sending free copies to sites for review. Wait, not done yet! It also covers their travel and hotel when they go to the cons, like Gay Rom Lit (which is in Albequerque this year) to promote authors and their works AND somewhere in there has to be some small profit, so they can keep publishing quality books. 

The other half goes to me, because I had an idea, I created characters, I planned and wrote and rewrote and edited and spent countless hours getting a manuscript into the best possible shape before sending it off to the publisher. I gave up my social life, I don’t see my friends much, and reading is something I do in the bathroom or at the dentist office, and damn, I love reading! But I work a full-time job and there’s only so much time in every day. <–This is NOT a complaint. I love writing, and I’d find a way to do it anyway, for free. Hell, many of you remember I did exactly that when I role-played Sylar et al. But I have to admit, getting paid something for my talent and time is better than not getting paid…

…Except there are people out there who think it’s okay to steal what we write, because that’s what piracy is: stealing. They say ebooks should be even cheaper. WTF, how can that happen? Read the two preceding paragraphs again. A measly four bucks means so much to the people whose work you enjoy. Even six or eight bucks isn’t much to pay for the entertainment value you receive AND it is incentive for us to keep writing and for the publisher to stay in business.

So please consider this if you’re tempted to pirate ebooks (or songs or computer programs), and please sign the peition, because it helps everyone in this business keep doing what they love and you reap the benefits.

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

