Having an Off Day

I was home when JJ got there, lying in bed reading on the Kindle, Suki beside me. He gave me a look.

“What’s wrong?”

“Headache. I did what I had to and came home.” 

He tossed his jacket on the chair. “Want a massage?”

Grinning, I flipped over on my stomach. JJ had magic hands. “Left shoulder, as usual.” That’s where my headaches always started.

“Worried about stuff or just sleep wrong last night?”

“No idea. Might be fighting off a cold, too. Scratchy throat.”

He leaned over and whispered in my ear. “Hot bath, night in bed, chicken noodle soup, the movie of your choice.”

I smiled. “You spoil me. Don’t stop.”

“Never.” He nibbled my ear. “I won’t even jump your achy bones.”

“You’re so good to me.”

He was, too. The best. The day I met him, at the fruit and vegetable store on the corner, will always be one of my favorites.

I hoped we could make it through the upcoming separation, when I was in WI while he stayed here.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

