Blue River Review: She didn’t like it much

I admit that often, the strangest things make me laugh. This review had me smiling and laughing all the way through, and I’m not sure why. I mean, she clearly didn’t like Ethan, the main character. Says he’s “full of himself,” and that’s not the worst of it.

I’m in a couple of writer’s groups online, and the one topic that crops up over and over again are “bad” reviews. How do you handle them? Should you respond? How do you gain perspective after someone trashes a story you put a lot of heart (and time) into? 

I guess I’m pretty much a horse of a different color (and that phrase always makes me recall that song/scene in Wizard of Oz!) because bad reviews don’t bother me much. I’ve gotten a few and mostly, I shrug and move on. Everyone has a viewpoint, and they’re not always going to see things the way I do. In short, they’re entitled to their opinion, and I’m absolutely sure not everyone is going to like everything I write.

This review is dripping with sarcasm and I can almost see the writer rolling her eyes as she put this together. I’m not offended. It gave me a couple of good laughs. Maybe you’ll enjoy it, too.

Cryselle’s Bookshelf. Read it, let me know what you think. 🙂

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

