Writing and Cleaning; Not Entirely Incompatible

I vacuumed the floors. JJ made me do it.

I admit things had gotten kind of grungy over the holidays. So we had a cleaning frenzy this morning, first thing, and then I sat on the couch with my laptop and knocked out a pivotal chapter in my latest story. 

The end, my friends, is in sight! Or, at least, the initial draft is approaching wrap. After that, my edit, then AJ’s edit, and then I can submit it.

I’m trying really hard not to think about the next one yet, but that idea I mentioned, the one that keeps kicking me in the ass? Yeah, still around, but I have one more WIP and a snippet of conversation from yet another story…

As you can see, this never ends. Once a writer, always a writer, even if/when there are long stretches of inactivity between bouts of creativity. My breaks so far have been short, i.e., one or two days off, and then back at it.

JJ’s getting ready to return to school; winter break is wrapping up for him. Ya know, I think everyone should get a paid winter vacation of at least two weeks. Let’s make it a constitutional amendment.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

