Year End Inventory

I never make New Year’s resolutions, because one year I decided to quit smoking on January 1 and lit one up about six hours later. Change is always possible and often desired, but it doesn’t follow the calendar. It has to happen when the time is right. I did quit smoking, cold turkey, but it wasn’t until June, three years later. It stuck; I haven’t had a cigarette since.

But the end of one year and the beginning of another is a good time to take stock of things. 

In a year of economic and political calamity, I still have a job and a roof over my head. JJ and Suki enrich my life every minute they’re with me. Lucy is still the most wonderful neighbor and friend ever, and I like Cristian well enough but I’d like him better if he tried genres of music other than reggae.

My friend, D, is possibly out of danger; they pulled the tube yesterday morning, which means he’s alert enough to twitch a finger when the doctor asks him to. I’ll let you guess which finger. He should be back to his irascible self, well, any second now.

My mom’s doing great right now, though intermittent assaults by chemo are leaving her weak and nauseous. Irene and Dan are looking after her, though, and I should be there soon.

2011 was the year I got published. It happened in June and in the last six months, I’ve had six stories accepted and released. Short stories, all, but I’m pleased with every one of them because it means so much that a few people liked them well enough to buy them. In hard times like these, that can’t be underestimated or taken for granted.

For those of you who like numbers: Total word count of published ebooks and WIPs is 126,182. I did this working full time, too! Kind of puts things in perspective for me. I gave up most of my social life, some sleep, books I wanted to read and haven’t yet gotten to, walks with the dog, and almost all house cleaning so I could write write write. Considering the small number on my first royalty check, I know for a fact I do it out of love, not money.

So…thanks to MLR Press and Dreamspinner for taking a chance on a new author and making my dream come true! I’m already looking forward to a new year of personal improvement in my work.

Special thanks to Franzia, for making cheap wine in a box that tastes pretty damn good; I owe ya for smoothing my evenings and easing me into sleep and making me giggle crazily when I drink too much, which I assure everyone, doesn’t happen very often.

Happy New Year, everyone!

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

