Anticipation

JJ looked at the box by the door. “What’s in that?”

“VHS tapes. I’m bringing them to work, giving them away.”

He frowned. “I never thought you’d get rid of those. You’ve hung on to them for years…” 

“I don’t want to move them, they take up too much space.” I looked at him. “Do you want them?”

He shook his head. “No. I don’t watch them either.”

“Exactly. It’s DVDs or Netflix now.” Heaving a sigh, he went into the bedroom. I followed after. “You okay?”

“Yeah…but it’s getting more real every day.” He turned. “You’re moving. You’re leaving.”

He didn’t say it but I heard it anyway: You’re leaving me. I went up behind him and put my arms around him. “Temporary, babe. Until the school year is finished. Then you’ll join me and get a job there and we’ll be together again.”

“What if I can’t get a job? The economy sucks. No one’s hiring.”

“I’m getting a job.”

“Because your uncle knows someone and has pulled some strings.” He leaned back against me. “I’m a teacher. It’s what I do, and here, I have a job.”

A chill went through me. “Let’s not think about it now. Let’s think about this instead.” I slid a hand down to his crotch and squeezed.

He moved away. The chill turned into a shudder.

We got ready for bed without saying more than a couple words to each other.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

