Evening at Home


“Running a contest, huh?”

I nodded, lying on the couch watching a DVD. Suki was curled up at my side. The electric fireplace was on, and the room was toasty warm. “Everyone who emails me is automatically entered. I didn’t want to make it hard or complex. Just wanted to have a little fun.”

He raised my legs, slid under them to sit, and lowered them across his thighs. “Point Break. Haven’t seen this in a while.” 

“I like the surfing parts.”

“I like the sky-diving parts.”

“That’s ’cause you’d never do that.” I grinned at him. 

He smiled back at me, moving his hands up under my pants leg. “You wouldn’t either.”

“Not unless I was stoned or drunk,” I conceded. “I’m not an adrenaline junkie.”

“Nope. You write it instead.”

“Think I should live more?” I asked it seriously.

“You live plenty,” he said, laughing. “Some of the stories you’ve told me from when you first hit the city are wild!”

I smiled, remembering my errant youth. “Those were good times. Older now, though.” I stretched out a hand and he took it. “I like this. Being at home with you.”

Our fingers entwined. I’ve done the party thing, the club thing, the drinking thing, the drug thing. I prefer the domestic thing. Nothing compares to being with someone you love.
About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

