Canceling Cable

“I think we should cancel cable,” I said out of the blue while we were watching International House Hunter on HGTV.

JJ gave me an incredulous look. “You love this show. If you cancel cable, you’ll lose it.”

“Don’t care. Who the hell lives like this? On the show before this, the bitch complained about no granite counters in the kitchen. Christ, what do we have?” 

“Butcher block.”

“There ya go. Last place I rented had formica counters.” I scowled at the TV. “And now I’m watching people move to Africa. Why can’t we move to Africa?”

“Last night you wanted to move to Italy, when they did a show about that.”

“Those places with cone roofs? The stone? Wonderful. It would be like living in a cave or something.”

JJ returned to his book. “Want me to cancel it tomorrow? I can do it on my lunch break.”

“…Tomorrow? Wow, that’s…soon.”

“We’re paying for Netflix. You never watch anything other than this one show. Just do it. Clean break, Fen.”

I nodded. “Yup. You’re absolutely right. Tomorrow, huh? There are new House Hunters all month…”

He laughed. “Knew you weren’t serious.”

“I am!” I threw a pillow at him. “Do it. I can handle it.”

“You sure?”

“Yeah. Hell, I did without it for months before they gave it to me free for three months. Now that we’re paying for it again, I’m not so happy with it.”

“Consider it done.”

I heaved a sigh and watched the couple walking through a really gorgeous property with a pool. “Choose #2,” I said to the TV.

JJ grinned and didn’t say a word.

 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Canceling Cable

  1. keltrustsnoone says:

    Me and my husband go over this ALL the time LOL

    • JJ’s right. I only watch the one show. Everything else bores the crap out of me. It doesn’t make sense to pay for that and Netflix, so yeah, makes sense to kill cable. It’s too expensive these days anyway. I don’t like paying to watch commercials. Uh, wasn’t cable supposed to be commercial-free? What the hell happened?

Leave a Reply

