Morning Rituals


“Get up, Fen.” 

A pillow bounced off the back of my head but I only burrowed deeper into the covers. “Too cold.”

“It is not. I turned up the heat half an hour ago. Besides, I thought you wanted to work on revisions this morning?” 

“Meh.”

“Internet speak. You must not really be awake yet.” 

With that, he leaped on me and started tickling. He knows that drives me nuts. “Okay! I’m getting up.”

He got off me, and I sat on the edge of the bed, looking at the gray light coming in the window and wishing I was somewhere warm. It was raining. 

Who are these people who say they love cold weather? I’ve heard a few remark that they don’t mind it, but there are real people who say they need to be where it gets cold. I’m thinking they must be partially insane and they just haven’t had their mental illness classified yet, because who would want to shiver and shake and wear five layers of clothing just to go outside, and not do it for a day or two but for months?

We’re not there yet, but it’s coming. For a non-official nudist like me, winter kills.

JJ walked back into the room. “You call that up?”

I hunched into myself, still looking out at the rain. “Getting there.” I thought about snow and how it covered the ground and all color went away for months. “Under the snow, Life is dreaming of better times.”

“Who said that?”

“I did.”

“Nice, now get your ass off the bed or you’ll be late.”

Groaning, I finally stood. 

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

