Holiday Donation Time…Where Should it Go?


JJ was cooking. I was on the laptop.

“What are you doing, Fen?”

“Making a donation.”

“Yeah? To whom?”

Whom, not who. He’s a teacher. Of course, he’d get that right. Smiling, I entered my credit card number. “The Trevor Project.”

“Excellent choice. Whatever you’re giving, double it. I want to donate, too.”

I did as he asked. Neither of us have lots of superfluous money, but The Trevor Project is important. They help LGBTQ youth make it through some tough times. 

“When I was grocery shopping today, I saw a Salvation Army bell ringer. It was all I could not to yell at her.”

“I’m glad you didn’t, honey. The volunteers may not be aware of their negative stance regarding LGBTQ.”

I hit the submit button. “Done. We just made a donation to a very worthy cause.” 

Setting the laptop aside, I stood and went into the kitchen, hugging JJ from behind. “Thanks, babe. Every dollar counts.”

He leaned back into me. “I wish we could give more.”

“I always wish that. I hope the people with lots of money will share this holiday season, put it where it counts, where it matters. What could be more important?”

He turned his head and we kissed.

________________

Please consider making a donation to The Trevor Project this holiday season. They do good, necessary work to keep our LGBTQ youth safe. Every dollar counts!

If you’re making a donation of under $500 (that would be me and JJ), go here:  DONATE

Please visit the web site if you can afford to give more! Every donation is appreciated and used to help LGBTQ youth!
About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL, suggestion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

