Role Play Reminiscence

“What do you miss most about role playing?” JJ asked.

We were just finishing up dinner and considering how to spend the evening.

“That question came out of thin air.”

“You’ve mentioned it several times in your entries, and why you gave it up, but I wondered if you missed it.”

I’d RPd several different characters for a couple of years, but my favorite would always be the serial killer. “I miss Sylar. Not as much as I thought I would, but once in a while, I want to slip inside his skin and take control of his mouth and snark up a storm. He could say things I never can, and when he’d been drinking? Hoo boy, he had a mouth on him, but he was funny about it and nasty only rarely. Sylar was more witty than me.”

“I read some of the old livejournal community pages you saved. Your group did some fantastic writing. Was it ever appreciated?”

I shrugged. “I’d like to think so. Mostly, we did it for ourselves and if others enjoyed it as well, that was a bonus.”

“Think you might want to do it again?”

“I never close a door, JJ. Anything is possible, but I ran into a couple of real crazy people there and since I’ve been out, things are much quieter. I like it that way. Hard to write when people are betraying you left and right and bad-mouthing you all over the internet.”

He nodded. We’d talked about the nut jobs and how awful they’d been. “They still role play, don’t they?”

“I think so. I haven’t paid any attention to either of them. A few of my fans follow my twitter account now, but mostly, we’ve moved on to new things.”  I was telling the truth. I’d paid no attention whatsoever to either of the people who made my life a living hell, fortunately not at the same time, or I might have imploded. Role play is supposed to be fun, but it’s full of jealousy, back-biting, and outright lying. I really was happy to be out of it.

“I’m getting close to the end of my story,” I said, retreating to the couch. “Think I’ll do some writing tonight.”

“I have papers to grade.”

We settled into companiable silence, leaving the television off. Cristian was elsewhere, so no reggae pounded over our heads, and Lucy and Brutus were still away on holiday.

Instead of slipping into Sylar’s mind, I explored Devin’s. He’s the main character in the new one. I like him quite a bit, but he’s no Sylar. Devin’s a nice guy. Sylar never was, but that’s why he was so much fun to play. All the dark little demons came out to play when I was him. People rarely get an opportunity to explore that side of themselves, but I did, and I found out I had a wicked, facile tongue but I was also charming, and people liked my Sylar quite a lot.

I guess I do miss him. A little. Maybe I always will.

 

 

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in internet, RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

