Rich is Better


JJ looked at the TV. “Why are you watching that?”

“Because it was on. Waiting for Amazing Race.”

“But House Hunters?” He rolled his eyes and sat down beside me. I swung my feet up across his lap.

“House Hunters International. Some guy is buying a second house in Costa Rica so he can be closer to his daughter. Is it wrong of me to think that spending half a million on a place you don’t live in full time is obscene? I mean, look at that! The fucking place has a pool.” 

He started massaging my calf muscles. “Close to the beach, too.”

I groaned. “I want to be rich some day. I know I never will but I want it anyway.”

“You’re rich in other things. You have great friends, you’re healthy, you have Suki and you have me.”

My turn to roll the eyes. “I know all that. But at the risk of being obscene, I still want more money than I know what to do with, because trust me, I’d know what to do with it.”

“You’d be an asshole if you had money.”

“Would not. I’d share it with all those friends I love. Hey, how about a tree house? I would love to live in one.”

“Or a castle! Yeah…” He laughed.

I gave him a playful kick. “Nothing wrong with a castle. I bet there are some cheap ones for sale. I mean, who can afford to take care of those places anymore? The heat bill must be death-inspiring.”

We watched the show for a while. When the next commercial break happened, he said, “I’d go with house number one. Can’t beat that ocean right outside your door.”

“I like number one, too.” We grinned at each other.

“So we buy lottery tickets this week?”

I nodded. “You can’t win if you don’t play.”

“He picked number two.”

“Idiot.”



About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

