Lurkers


I know why you’re here.

You skulk around the corners, in light or dark, poking me hard when I’m not looking and then quickly retreating to safety. You’re always there. You never let me rest. I can’t think straight anymore.

Other people don’t have this problem. They’re not glancing around, shifty-eyed, waiting to be pounced on at unexpected moments. They go to work and actually work and never look up unexpectedly and feel their eyes glaze over. They go to parties and see their friends and they remain in the moment, having a wonderful time, while I itch inside, my attention divided, only half listening to the story they’re telling me about their trip to Peru, where they picked up some disgusting internal parasite that made their life a living hell for weeks. In this case, I’m sort of happy to be distracted by the Lurkers. 

That’s what I call them: Lurkers. 

Most of them remain amorphous and ghostlike, troubling me only enough to make me turn my head and look for a second, but a few of them bravely step out into full light and demand I see them. 

“Hey! Pay attention to me, damn it! You know you want to. Without me, you are nothing. You’d live your boring little life, running in the hamster wheel until you dropped from exhaustion and be perpetually unhappy. So rejoice! I’m going to transform the canvas of your mind, enable you to perform wonderful feats of unimaginable beauty and eloquence. I’ll give you somewhere else to live for a while, and gawd knows, where you usually reside is damn uninteresting.”

I know why you’re here.

When it happens, I know I’m lost. I cannot deny them. I must…write!

If plot bunnies were like the ones blowing around under the bed, I’d get a lot more sleep. 
About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in publishing, RL and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lurkers

  1. leebrazi says:

    Hi, Nice to meet you and the voices in your head. I’m liking your voice on the page as well. I’ll be back. Don’t comment much, but I like a blog that does more than try to sell me something. 🙂

    • Nice to meet you, too. Thanks for commenting. I do post news of my ebooks here, but I don’t dwell. I figure if you’re interested, you’ll buy, but it’s not a requirement to hang out here.

Leave a Reply

