Text Conversation

JJ texted me: Saw your remark on that one post.

What remark?

About a perfect world and being able to love me and him. Did you mean that?

I thought about how I should answer. In fact, I put it off for a few minutes. It was an intellectual response to her remark, but yeah, a part of me would like that, or at least I think I would. I don’t know. It’s complicated.

He didn’t text back for at least half an hour. I wondered if he just got busy or I pissed him off or what.

And then: I don’t think I could do that.

Okay.

There was nothing after that. I guess the subject was closed.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Text Conversation

  1. wlotus says:

    Being able to love more than person and be loyal to multiple people is something I am surprised so few people can do.

    • Our culture very much stresses ‘couples,’ to the point where they get a tax break. ;/ The media supports this, and throws a lot of jealousy into the mix if you should stray. Humans are great mimics. They pick up things quickly and easily and if everyone else is doing it, they’re trying to do it, too. Most of us just want to get along.

      This is a complex issue. Individualism is figuratively beaten out of us every year we are in school. We are made to conform, stay inside the lines, don’t cause problems, and for christ’s sake, don’t think for yourself, the ruling class can’t handle that! This is why religion was created: to control the masses. It’s proven to be one hell of a cudgel over the centuries because it takes advantage of a human mindset that can be manipulated and controlled.

      And how did I get to religion from where I started? Because for all its talk about religious freedom, this country is one of the most hypocritical, rigid-thinking places I’ve ever seen. Our government just spent $200,000 reaffirming “In god we trust.” They could have spent it creating jobs, but no, they wasted it on something imbecilic. Religion is a tool. It’s what keeps most of us in line. It disallows anyone who is “different,” and that includes anyone who identifies with GLBTQ.

Leave a Reply

