The Phone Call


AJ called this afternoon to talk with JJ. I heard his side of the conversation. It was civil and polite. And short.

I looked at him as he set the cell down. “Feel better?”

“Than what? A punch to the gut? An inoculation against rebella?” 

I rolled my eyes and went back to my laptop. I could feel his eyes on me. After a few minutes, I said, “What?”

“I like the way your hair lies against your neck when you’re bent over like that. And the scruff. I like the scruff, even when it leaves a burn.”

I grinned. “Have you started drinking already?”

“What is it you like about AJ?”

I looked at him. “What the hell?”

“Just curious. Not angry…curious.”

“This is not a productive line of questioning, babe. You’ll just get pissed off.”

“Yeah, probably, but tell me anyway.”

We stared at each other. He waited, I stalled. 

“Blue eyes,” I said at last. 

He thought that over. “I can go along with that. He does have pretty eyes.” He got down on the floor next to me. “Like yours better though.”

“Want to show me how much?”

“Oh yeah…”



About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Phone Call

  1. Good for him! He was polite and mature. Hope that conversation put his mind at ease. =)♥

Leave a Reply

