Meltdown


“Fen, take a fucking pill.” 

I’d been throwing shit around in the bedroom closet, looking for a shirt I hadn’t seen in ages and swearing under my breath when JJ had finally had enough. “It’s my favorite shirt.”

“If you haven’t seen it in months, how can that be true? What’s really bothering you?”

I sat back on my heels and looked at him. He was sitting in bed with a book. Suki laid beside him, dozing. 

“How about I just gave notice on a job I really like? How about my mom had a brain tumor and it’s going to come back?” I got to my feet and my voice rose. “How about me moving halfway across the country while you stay here in New York? How about that, huh?”

I glared at him, almost shaking with anger. He gazed back, his face twisted with pain. Putting his book aside, he slid off the bed and came to me, wrapping his arms around me. 

“I wish I could change things,” he said against my neck. “What can I do for you?”

The anger died and I was exhausted. “…Just what you’re doing. Don’t stop.”

“Never.”
About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meltdown

  1. Oh, honey! ='(

    I knew you were too calm to be true. The other shoe dropped. The pain, the anguish and the frustration finally hit you. Wish I could do something to help with the pain. It’s an awful situation. Sending you a huge polar bear hug. I’m with you.

    Take care of yourself.

    Lili ♥

Leave a Reply

