Holiday Discussion


“Halloween should last for a few days, don’t you think? It’s a great holiday for being someone or something other than you are.” JJ and I were in the living room; he on the couch surrounded by paper, me in the easy chair with the laptop on my knees. The electric fireplace was on, warming the room. “Today, we’re back to the usual, the normal, and it’s kind of a letdown.”

“Thanksgiving is coming.”

“Meh. All people do on that holiday is stuff themselves to the bursting point and watch football. I hate football.”

“You don’t like the uniforms? That’s the only reason I watch it.” 

“Oh my god, you watch football? Who are you?”

“Someone who likes to watch those tight asses running up and down the field.” 

“I might be able to take it if you turn the sound off,” I admitted. 

“Then there’s Black Friday.”

I shrugged. “I don’t get caught up in the ‘get a bargain at any cost’ frenzy. In fact, I hate shopping. I generally do it online, and very little even then.”

“Fen, you are not the typical American. Don’t you know you’re supposed to max out your credit cards at the holidays? Go into debt for the next six months?”

I snorted inelegantly. “New Year’s is fun.”

“Of course it is. We can drink and party up a storm. What’s not to like?”

“We agree on a holiday at last.” 

We smiled at each other. I would spend New Year’s with JJ, no matter what the cost. “So it’s a date?”

He nodded, still smiling. 


 
About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

