All About the Weather

First thing this morning, I looked up weather. “It’s 37 fucking degrees in Wisconsin right now. I’m going to die, JJ. I can barely stand the cold now.”

“There’s not that much difference between 37 and 50, which is our temp at the moment.”

“You are so wrong! There is a world of difference! Thirty-seven is only five degrees above freezing. You know, that state where everything crystallizes and you die if you don’t have enough clothes on.”

He buttoned his shirt, trying not to laugh. “Didn’t you grow up in Ohio? Isn’t it cold there, too?”

“Yes. That’s how I know what 37 degrees means, and that’s also why I can’t stand winter. I get frostbitten fingers just holding a glass with ice in it.”

He did laugh then. “Fen, you ass, you’ll be fine.”

I gave him a sharp look. “How about you? How are you going to like walking in a blizzard and warming your hands in your armpits while you stamp your feet to get the blood moving? Oh, and if it’s cold enough, it hurts to breath. The air shocks the shit out of the sensitive lining in your nostrils.”

His eyebrows went up. “Thirty-seven degrees in WI today, huh?”

“Yeah.”

“How cold does it get there in winter?”

“I looked that up, too. Try twenty below, and then add wind chill.”

Frowning, he turned and left the room.

I called after him, “Sucks, right?”

His silence was the only answer I required. Satisfied, I shut down and hurried to get ready for work.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

