Decisions

We’ve come to some conclusions. First, everyone dies, and it’s never convenient. I’m still bummed about all of this but I have to accept that I might lose my mom sooner than I’d hoped. To that end, I need to spend as much time with her as possible, storing up good memories and just being there for her.

I will be moving as soon as it is feasible. I’ll have to quit my job and hopefully find another in MN (Aunt Irene lives in Spring Valley, which is nowhere near a job center, so I’ll be looking in the Twin Cities for a job and a place to live). Irene’s husband, Dan, knows some people and might be able to help.

JJ will remain in NYC for now; leaving in the middle of a school year is not good.  We’ll talk about him joining me when the year ends. In the meantime, we’ll visit back and forth as much as possible and talk on the cell. Probably, a <i>lot</i>. Suki goes with me, because JJ thinks she’ll be good company. I think he’s right. I’ve become very attached to her, as I take her to work every day.

We can do this. We can make it work. In the meantime, I’m not going to talk about my mom much. No point in making everyone nuts. We go on from here and do the best we can.

Thanks for your support, and for listening.

About Fenraven

Fenraven happily lives in south Florida, where it is really hot most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in RL and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decisions

  1. I’m so sorry about your Mom. That’s terrible. =(

    Like 6 years ago my mom started complaining about a strange pain. I took her to the doctor and he discovered a huge tumor around one of her kidneys. It was malignant but the doctor was able to remove it all. She has just one kidney now and I took care of her after the surgery. I still remember those horrible days before the surgery when I thought that I was going to lose her, it was a nightmare. I have my Mom with me now and even if she drives me crazy sometimes I love her so much. No one can’t really understand the pain you’re feeling because it’s something indescribable.

    It’s a good decision. If you don’t do this you will regret it for the rest of your life. These moments are precious. Your Mom needs you and you need her too. Good you’re taking Suki with you, the emotional support than a pet is able to give is amazing. And I’m glad JJ understands. Hope everything will work out between you two. Be strong but remember that you’re only human and it’s ok if once in a while you break down. I know you have amazing friends but anytime if you need someone else to talk, to rant, to cry or just someone to listen, I’m here too. Big hug, Fen.

    Take good care of yourself please.

  2. gary1964jr says:

    Sorry to here about your mom. I know how it goes as I lost mine when I was 20, she was only 38.
    Anyway, hang in there buddy. Things WILL work out both with mom and JJ. Be strong!
    Gary B

Leave a Reply

