Sylar Saturday: The Dancer

This is fanfic, written a couple years ago. I don’t own Sylar, I’m just borrowing him for a bit. It’s posted in seven parts.

This story reminds me of an unpleasant experience, one that made me decide SArmy was not the best place to hang out anymore. I’d been posting fic there for a while and someone asked if I’d take a look at something she’d written, do some editing. I was unemployed and had the time, so I said sure, having no idea what I was letting myself in for.

The first warning should have been having seventeen chapters emailed to me. Seventeen! But I’d agreed, so I started reading. The first page was enough to make my eyes roll back in my head. It was so very badly written, mere editing couldn’t fix it. I stopped at the bottom of page one. Quit cold. This piece of crap needed a complete rewrite and no way was I doing that for free. 

I contacted her, being as tactful as possible. She came back with, “Oh, it’s in rough form.”

Excuse me? You’re asking someone to edit seventeen chapters that haven’t gone through final editing? Fuck that shit. I told her I couldn’t do it and deleted the manuscript from the computer.

I didn’t think of it again until after I wrote this story and posted it to SArmy. She started screaming that I’d plagiarized her work, copied her main character and her power blah blah.

Well, no, I had no idea her character was a dancer and I never did get to the power; I stopped reading after one page. The very public discussion devolved into a state of complete bullshit. I asked the mods to lock the thread and quit SArmy.

Guess what? I still love this story, despite all of that.

______________

Title: The Dancer (Sylar)
Word Count: 13,124
No warnings. Het sex, slash, violence, death
Story is complete

The Dancer

About Theo Fenraven

Theo Fenraven lives in St Paul, MN, where it is really cold most of the year. Find him on Twitter, Google +, and Facebook by searching on 'fenraven'.
This entry was posted in fanfic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

